The 2006 OFL awards were announced today, to be celebrated in a lavish ceremony at a later date. As expected, the 11-1 Irish Stout picked up many of the individual honors.

Most Valuable Player: Paul McRae, QB, Irish Stout

Clearly, McRae’s season long dominating performance, including 48 touchdown passes (tying his own league record), were not lost on the highly perceptive and intelligent voters. When informed of winning his second consecutive MVP award, McRae gushed, “I couldn’t have done it without my tackified Wilson fully inflated football.”

Offensive Player of the Year: Kirk Ireland, Slotback, Irish Stout

Ireland proved unstoppable all season, leading the league in scoring with 20 touchdowns. When informed of his win, he declared, “Oh, I’m going to have to get my hair done for the ceremony — maybe I’ll get a little frosting on top.”

Defensive Player of the Year: Kirk Ireland, Cornerback, Irish Stout

The Stout continued to pull in the awards as Ireland was also voted Defensive Player of the Year. His 10 interceptions led the league and his coverage of the most dangerous opposing receiver allowed the Stout to run their bump-and-run man-to-man defense effectively. “Definitely some frosting,” was his only comment.

Rookie of the Year: Dan Murdock, Tight End, Irish Stout

A near-unanimous selection, the big tight end out of the University of Windsor lit up the scoreboard with 17 touchdowns (second in the league). Nearly unstoppable near the goal line or buffet table, Murdock was thrilled when informed of his award. “Boy, I hope it is made of chocolate!” he ejaculated.

Foreign Player of the Year: Matias Madou, Receiver, French Foreign Legion

Though he did not join the team until after mid-season, the athletic Madou made an immediate impact. His dazzling moves, surprisingly good hands, and defensive prowess were impressive for someone new to the game. When notified, he said, “I wish I could head butt someone right now!”

All-OFL Team

As expected, Paul McRae was named the All-OFL QB. Kirk Ireland and Dan Murdock join him on the team as receivers. All three were unanimous All-OFL selections. Rounding out the squad are receivers Louis Aubin and Matias Madou from the French Foreign Legion. Others receiving votes were Sean Hope, Peter Arseneau, Yves Charron, Mo Elabd, and Bevan Watkiss.